Americana / News / Reissue / Videos

REISSUE NEWS: The Band’s ‘Music From The Pink’ gets a 50th anniversary reissue


The Band’s Music From The Big Pink is generally considered a cornerstone of what has become known as Americana music. With it’s loose, ramshackle approach to country and folk music it served as inspiration for generations of musicians that followed and continues to amaze first-time listeners to this day.

To mark the album’s 50th anniversary, UMG are releasing the album in the following formatson August 31st – CD, digital, standard 2xLP, limited edition pink vinyl 2xLP and Super Deluxe CD/Blu-ray/2xLP/7″ box set with a hardbound book.

Bob Clearmountain has produced a new stereo mix for the album, from the original four-track analogue masters. CD, digital and box set configurations also include five outtakes and alternate recordings from the Big Pink sessions and a previously unreleased a cappella version of ‘I Shall Be Released.’

There will also be a new 5.1 surround mix for the album and the bonus tracks, presented on Blu-ray with the new stereo mix in high resolution audio (96kHz/24bit). The box set also includes an exclusive reproduction of The Band’s 1968 7″ single for ‘The Weight’ / ‘I Shall Be Released’ in their new stereo mixes and a hardbound book with a new essay by David Fricke and classic photos by Elliott Landy.

All the new audio mixes have been mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering.

Music from Big Pink (50th Anniversary Edition)
2018 stereo mix
1. Tears Of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In A Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel’s On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Bonus Tracks:
12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)

tie off


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s