Alt-Country / Americana / Blues / New Music / News

NEWS: Son Volt Announce New 2017 LP


Son Volt has announced that their new album, Notes Of Blue with be released on February 17th, 2017 via Thirty Tigers/Cooking Vinyl Australia.

Led by the songwriting and vocals of Jay Farrar, Son Volt was one of the most instrumental and influential bands in launching the alt-country movement of the 1990’s. A movement that was the precursor to what is now widely referred to as Americana.
Press Release:

The 10 songs on Notes Of Blue are inspired by the spirit of the blues, but not the standard blues as most know it. The unique and haunting tunings of Mississippi Fred McDowell, Skip James and Nick Drake were all points of exploration for Farrar for the new collection. The album opens with the country soul of Promise The World, followed by Back Against The Wall, a song that could stand alongside the great Son Volt songs of their early albums. However, Notes Of Blue reflects the blues as it resides in the folk tradition but heavily amplified. The primal stomp of Cherokee St., the frenetic guitar on Static and the raw slide in Sinking Down exude grit and attitude. Conversely, tracks such as The Storm and Cairo and Southern seamlessly meld blues with hypnotic melodies that add a unique balance to Notes Of Blue.

Farrar possesses one of the most distinctive voices in roots, rock, country or any genre. He exudes a soulful longing combined with a wise-beyond-his-years command that is as arresting and compelling as ever. As a songwriter, Farrar’s depth and poetic penchant has been the foundation of a thoughtful, deep and intelligent body of work. Both attributes are on full display on Notes Of Blue,  as he touches on themes of redemption and the common struggle, both of which are at the core of the blues

Whether you call it, Americana, roots rock, insurgent country or just good 
ol’ rock ‘n’ roll, musical trends appear and disappear on a regular basis. Notes Of Blue is a testament to the legacy of inspiration and creative spirit that Jay Farrar and Son Volt continue to uphold.


1. Promise the World
2. Back Against the Wall
3. Static
4. Cherokee St
5. The Storm
6. Lost Souls
7. Midnight
8. Sinking Down
9. Cairo and Southern  
10. Threads and Steel
Produced by Jay Farrar
Mixed by John Agnello
Mastered by Brad Sarno at Blue Jade Audio
Jay Farrar: vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, organ
Jacob Edwards: drums, percussion
Mark Spencer: backing vocal, bass, 
weissenborn, piano
Garry Hunt: backing vocal, fiddle
Jason Kardong: pedal steel

tie off


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s