Americana / Cosmic Country / Country / News / Psychedelic / Reissue / Rock

REISSUE NEWS: Rhino announce remastered Buffalo Springfield box set


Rhino have finally gone and done what plenty of people have been calling for, for a long time now – remastered reissues of the Buffalo Springfield catalogue. On June 29th they’ll release What’s That Sound? The Complete Albums Collection comprised of 5-CD and 5-LP box sets of the band’s three albums as originally issued between 1966 and 1968 – Buffalo Springfield, Buffalo Springfield Again, and Last Time Around – as newly remastered from the original analog tapes under the supervision of Neil Young.

The new collection boasts the original stereo mixes of all three albums, plus the mono mixes of Buffalo Springfield and Buffalo Springfield Again.  Additionally, the new remasters will be available on digital download and streaming platforms, while high resolution streaming and downloads will be released through the Neil Young Archives.  The vinyl edition, limited to 5,000 units, has the same contents as the CD version.  Each album has been pressed on 180-gram vinyl and housed in sleeves and gatefolds recreating the original Atco releases.

What’s That Sound is the greatest BUFFALO SPRINGFIELD COLLECTION ever. Remastered from the original analog tapes, it’s guaranteed to sound better than any earlier edition of this great and influential music. NYA was overseeing the remastering process. I have heard it and this is the best it can be! It sounds amazing! If you love Buffalo Springfield, this is the ultimate collection to have.” – NEIL YOUNG

CD 1 & CD 2: Buffalo Springfield (Atco 33-200/SD 33-200, 1966) (Mono/Stereo)

  1. “Go And Say Goodbye”
  2. “Sit Down I Think I Love You”
  3. “Leave”
  4. “Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing”
  5. “Hot Dusty Roads”
  6. “Everybody’s Wrong”
  7. “Flying On The Ground Is Wrong”
  8. “Burned”
  9. “Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It”
  10. “Baby Don’t Scold Me” (only on mono mix)
  11. “Out Of My Mind”
  12. “Pay The Price”
  13. “For What It’s Worth”

CD 3 & CD 4: Buffalo Springfield Again (Atco 33-226/SD 33-226, 1967) (Mono/Stereo)

  1. “Mr. Soul”
  2. “A Child’s Claim To Fame”
  3. “Everydays”
  4. “Expecting To Fly”
  5. “Bluebird”
  6. “Hung Upside Down”
  7. “Sad Memory”
  8. “Good Time Boy”
  9. “Rock And Roll Woman”
  10. “Broken Arrow”

CD 5: Last Time Around (Atco SD 33-256, 1968)

  1. “On The Way Home”
  2. “It’s So Hard To Wait”
  3. “Pretty Girl Why”
  4. “Four Days Gone”
  5. “Carefree Country Day”
  6. “Special Care”
  7. “The Hour Of Not Quite Rain”
  8. “Questions”
  9. “I Am A Child”
  10. “Merry-Go-Round”

tie off


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s